what God and “science” really say about me

IMG_9239I saw a heartbreaking picture on Facebook today. The picture shows an adorable little girl holding a page full of lies.

I felt I just had to respond to it.

Our world is so full of lies about what “religion” says about people. This is what God says:

God says that anyone who harms a child is better off tying a millstone around his neck and jumping into the sea.

He sent his only Son to DIE for us, He made us in His image. He gives us hope for eternity. He hears our prayers, He answers them. He cares about the sparrows. He provides for us. He is our fortress, an ever present help in times of trouble. He is a Father to the fatherless. I could go on and on.

According to “science” i.e. evolution we are just a cosmic accident. We came from animals, we are basically just animals ourselves. We have no soul, no hope, no purpose, no life after death.

Now which is really more damaging?

Hope for Heaven through Christ, or a guarantee of Hell whether you believe in it or not?

Like I said, it breaks my heart.

signature

12 thoughts on “what God and “science” really say about me

  1. Alanna Rusnak

    What is even harder is the happy happy face of that little girl 😦 Your response is perfect without being condescending or huffy. Well done!

    I want to offer you the Lovely Blog Award – I received it yesterday and now I want to pass it along to you! No strings attached. The award stands even if you don’t fulfill the requirements. Only fulfill the award if you have time and are inspired. You can grab all the info here:
    http://selfbindingretrospect.alannarusnak.com/2014/02/one-lovely-blog-award.html

    Reply
  2. Candi

    Visiting thanks to Self Binding Retrospect – I have two girls – 22 & 26. It was very hard getting them through school and keeping them on the straight and narrow. I can not imagine how hard you ladies have it these days. The things that children are exposed to on a daily basis is so heart breaking. Television is rated R. Kids are over exposed. Fashion is crazy. Even M & M’s are ‘sexy’ these days. It is even worse if they don’t have a haven they can feel secure in. A place where the their world is free from chaos. A place where it is clear what is right and what is wrong. What is of God. What is of this world. Saying a prayer for all the children in this world, that they may know God.

    Reply
    1. my2monsters Post author

      You are so right, the world I grew up in is so much different that the world my kids are growing up in. The same problems generally, but everything is way more out in the open these days. I am terrified about their teenage years, I just try to remind myself that God is in control and that the best thing we can do for our children is to pray for them constantly and raise them as best we can to be discerning.
      Thanks for visiting Candi!

      Reply
    1. my2monsters Post author

      I assume you are referring to my post as lies?
      The uncomfortable truth is that we are all sinners destined for hell but God so loved us that he sent his only Son as the only payment for our sin and the only way to heaven.
      I know it is easier to think we are only accountable to ourselves and all ways lead to heaven but that just isn’t the truth.

      Reply
  3. Nicole Williams (@nicsashorty)

    No where in evolution theory does it say we are alone, hopeless, not unique, or without a soul. These things exist even if god does not. They exist within each of us. Evolutionary theory, I would argue, very accurately details in a scientific manner that we are all individual (DNA), says that there is much hope of life on other planets, stresses the importance and understanding that we are all connected to each other and to this earth, and is exploding with endless knowledge if we only strive to find it! Teaching children to have only one viewpoint is dangerous, and immoral. Not allowing children to seek their own answers and THEIR OWN personal beliefs is cruel. Our children are our future, and they need to have faith in themselves first. God doesn’t get the A on the test, studying does. God doesn’t learn that new piano piece, practicing does. Kids need to have faith in themselves, and have an understanding of the world in today’s time, the scientific age. The wonderful thing about this is that I know many people who are devout christians, have faith in god, and attend church every week — the catch — they believe in evolution as well. Evolution theorists have never said that just because there is an abundant amount of evidence for evolution, that there cannot be a God, or many Gods for that matter. You can believe in Evolution and have faith in God. The unfortunate “other side” to this is that many who believe in “Creation Theory” are narrow minded, insisting that you cannot believe in Evolution if you believe in God. Personally, I’d like to believe that I am free to believe in what I want, AND have the knowledge that there is undeniable evidence that evolution is REAL. My point…. Creation Theorists believe only in creation theory, with no room for growth. Evolution theorists believe in evolution, but understand that there is always room for change, for new discoveries, and for faith.

    Reply
    1. my2monsters Post author

      On the contrary, evolutionist are not open minded as they believe that anyone who doesn’t agree with them is stupid or uneducated.
      People who believe both the Bible and evolution have not really studied the Bible, you can’t get past the very first verse without having problems with one or the other. If evolution is true then the Bible is not, if the Bible is true then evolution is not.
      If we choose to believe that we came from a big accident, essentially pond scum that evolved eventually into human we are believing that we are alone in the end. Sure there are other people all around us but not the promise of a God that will never leave us or forsake us because like I said you can’t truly believe both the Bible and evolution.
      We would also be hopeless then because this life is all we have if we believe evolution. It doesn’t matter then if this life is horrible and full of abuse, there is no hope that the best is yet to come, just the fear of death and at best nothingness or reincarnation to possibly live another life of pain and sorrow.
      There is constantly more evidence (both historic and scientific) being found that proves that the Bible is true but it is often not widely announced because mainstream (liberal) news doesn’t want people to know that. While the theory of evolution is riddled with problems and holes that seem to get glossed over.
      I am not an expert in this field but I suggest you check out Answers in Genesis because they are experts and have way more answers to those questions that I do.

      Also, I don’t know anyone who would teach their children not to study or practice or whatever because God will do it for them. That is just plain ridiculous. The Bible says to “do everything you do to the best of your ability as if you are doing it for God and not for man.” That is a pretty big incentive to actually study, practice and be a faithful worker.

      I find it amusing also that you say it is cruel to give children only one option for what to believe. Is that not exactly what the school systems do? It’s evolution or nothing and you are ridiculed if you disagree…..

      Reply
      1. Nicole Williams (@nicsashorty)

        I love this comment “like I said you can’t truly believe both the Bible and evolution.” and this one as well ” I am not an expert in this field”

        Nor am I an expert, but I am constantly trying to learn more, read more, and expand my knowledge on everything. I refuse to close the box and believe that it has to be one way or the other.

        I invite everyone to expand their knowledge, expand their understanding and possibly their acceptance of more than one answer to life’s greatest mystery.

        http://blogs.sciencemag.org/origins/2009/07/evolution-theory-and-religious.html

        Reply
        1. my2monsters Post author

          yes, I watched the entire debate live.
          Although I am not an expert (i.e. I do not have a PHD in science nor have I devoted my life to studying it- like most people) I do also constantly read and study to learn more and the more I study and learn and watch nature the more certain I am that there was intelligent design.

          Reply
  4. Candi

    I can stand in the middle of the street and say that I don’t believe in trucks and it won’t change a thing once I get hit by one.

    If you really look at the facts and you really look at what has been scientifically/historically proven – It takes more faith to believe in evolution. I think the words adaptation and evolution get interchanged. Living things do adapt to their environments. That does not mean they evolve.

    If I was a simple organism making my way out of the murky soup/sludge – what did I become first? A lung? A heart? A stomach? Then, was I just an organ flopping around on shore? Were their multiple organisms, evolving into organs and flopping around that then somehow managed to bump into each other? There are too many holes in this story. No matter what you believe evolved first. Look at each individual living creature on this planet. They are complex. Too complex to have evolved out of a murky soup. They are complex because they were created. Created by a wonderful, loving God.

    A God that won’t smack you over the head and make you believe in him. A God that gives all of us the choice to believe in Him or not. He does have some pretty stern warnings about children, and I think the intention of this post was to convey the warnings of leading children astray. So, you better be certain of what you believe before you start teaching it to children, because believe or not, one day you will stand before Him and answer for it.

    Reply
    1. my2monsters Post author

      Thank you Candi for your comment.
      It is so true and sobering that we all WILL one day answer for what we taught not only our own children but those we encounter.

      Reply

I love comments!

