the beauty behind the fog

Saturday night I was reading in first Corinthians thirteen and thinking about part of a message I heard about suffering and missions. I was reading chapter thirteen which is probably the most well known chapter in the whole the whole new testament – the Love chapter. Sometimes when I know a passage so well and have memorized it multiple times my mind tends to glaze over a bit and not really focus on what I am reading (the ONLY downside of memorizing, although reading from a different version helps.)

As I read verses nine through twelve they stood out to me in a different way. (I was thinking a lot about the things that David Platt had been speaking about with regards to suffering for the sake of the gospel and choosing to follow the Lord even when that usually means we will suffer. )

“For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways. For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; but then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully  known.” 

It really struck me, reminded me that I don’t have the full picture now. At best we see through a foggy, smudgy mirror. One day God will open our eyes, clear the dim mirror and we will know fully. We will see the whole picture. The reason for those struggles: the people who maybe were encouraged or believed because of how we handled them; or how He used them to make us more like Him.

We are blessed to be able to look back and see little pieces even now, but one day we will see it fully. How beautiful the whole picture must be! I can look back on times of intense darkness in my own life and can see a hint of that beauty even through my dim eyes. I can’t wait to see with clear eyes!

1 Corinthians 13:12

As I was writing this post I was listening to music on Youtube and this poem by Kristyn Getty came on and I thought it went so well. If you want to listen to it with her beautiful Irish accent click here otherwise read on:

“I look towards the wintering trees 
To hush my fretful soul 
As they rise to face the icy sky 
And hold fast beneath the snow 
Their rings grow wide, their roots go deep 
That they might hold their height
And stand like valiant soldiers 
Through the watches of the night 

No human shoulder ever bears 
The weight of all the world 
But hearts can sink beneath the ache 
Of trouble’s sudden surge 
Yet far beyond full knowing 
There’s a strong unsleeping light 
That reaches round to hold me 
Through the watches of the night 

I have cried upon the steps that seem 
Too steep for me to climb 
And I’ve prayed against a burden 
I did not want to be mine 
But here I am and this is where 
You’re calling me to fight 
And You I will remember 
Through the watches of the night 
You I will remember 
Through the watches of the night”

Until the day of true clarity comes we must press on and trust that God sees the whole picture, the parts we don’t understand may in the end be what makes our story such a masterpiece.

I love comments!

