Considering Heaven

 

As I mentioned in my last post, Caleb and I watched the Secret Church simulcast on Good Friday (and into Saturday morning). One thing I’ve really been thinking a lot about ever since is Heaven. I love the things that David Platt had to say about heaven and I think its made some lasting changes to my thinking.

I guess Heaven isn’t really something I have thought a lot about in the past. I didn’t picture it as being boring as many do; I have been excited about the things most believers look forward to: no more pain (physical and emotional), no more guilt or hurting the people we love with unkind words or selfishness, no more sin, and no more loss.  I have looked forward to meeting the children that we lost and never got to meet (besides in ultrasound pictures) and the family and friends who have already died, but apart from that I honestly hadn’t given Heaven a whole lot of thought.

I hadn’t thought about things like being able to really explore the world (the new earth – Revelations 21:1), to devote years and decades to seeing all the beautiful creation and praising God for it. I hadn’t thought about the fact that maybe all of the extinct creatures will no longer be extinct! That we may be able to see them and study them without fear or danger just in awe over God’s uniqueness displayed in all of them. I have to say, I had considered things like jumping off Niagara falls without fear of pain or death or sky diving without a parachute, but what about exploring the depth

of the ocean? Not just seeing the amazing creatures like sharks and whales and coral, but seeing the ones who are so deep down most people will never see them in this life. It’s kind of mind blowing and amazing.

What about the endless amount of time we will have with the people we love? Thinking about that especially put some things into perspective for me. The thought of giving up those relationships (in a sense) in this life to follow the Lord and reach the lost in remote areas. The thought is scary and heart breaking at times (I have many friends and family members who have done this and are spending their lives this way) but what a sweet blessing to know that they will have all of eternity to make up for those years! Our beloved relationships will only deepen without sin to get in the way!

This life is our opportunity to do the things that we can’t do in heaven. Things like share the gospel with the the unreached. Things like give up everything knowing that God will not let it go to waste. (not actually trying to say everyone needs to give away everything they have btw)

This life is our chance to lay up treasures in heaven. We can either spend it making ourselves comfortable, buying trendy clothes and stuff that we won’t even care about in a few years, or we can spend it on the Lord, teaching our children and those around us about him, sharing his love and seeing the joy in the eyes of a lost person when they finally see that Christ has paid the dept and they can be free from all of the bondage they feel or maybe didn’t even know they felt.

When we stand before the Lord we aren’t going to care what brand of clothes we wore, how stylish our kids were, what a sweet house and car we had or how many vacations we took. All that is going to matter is if we were faithful. If we lived our lives for His glory and took every opportunity to share His love and salvation with as many people as we could.

Heaven is real, Hell is real and everyone is going to end up in one or the other. I hope we never lose sight of that. Nothing else matters.

Matthew 6:19-21 Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

IMG_8643

2 thoughts on “Considering Heaven

  1. Sarah

    This was such a good post! I read it earlier today (saw your link on fb) and it’s been on my mind all day long. Now my kids are in bed, and I came back to re-read it and to look through your blog…so fun to see your beautiful family and read about your life! xx

    Reply

I love comments!

