game and gift night

Who doesn’t enjoy a women’s social game night? especially when that game is BUNCO and you have 24 women in one room with dice, amazing cupcakes and other snacks, and the chance to win prizes?!

My sister-in-law is friends with two really neat women who have been in Sick Kids with their baby girls for a most of their babies lives. (One just went home actually – went back in and was able to leave again but has only been home for a very short time. She blogs regularly at just the 6 of us ) Both of these precious little girls have something called Hypo-Plastic Left Heart and one of them has been waiting for a heart transplant for almost 8 months – she just turned 1.

After meeting Lisa on our trip to Sick Kids with Leo, I was really wanting to do something to bless these amazing women during this rough time. I have some really amazing girl friends here and I put it out to them that I wanted to make up some big care packages with their help. (they’ve helped me with other things like this is the past and are so thoughtful and generous). My amazing friend Heather changed the idea up a bit and suggested having a party and thus the Bunco night idea was born. We also decided to include a lady from our church whose little daughter was born 8 weeks early and is still in the hospital but doing well.

We invited somewhere around a hundred women. Twenty four women came (well 25 really but one was a bit late so missed the game) and many who couldn’t come sent gifts with others.

I’m not going to lie, I got a little emotional when I saw how generous people were! Beautiful handmade hats and head bands, a crib quilt, handmade cards, slippers, snacks, books, journals, little toys and colouring books and so many gift cards (along with a lot of other fun stuff). I know that these things will help show these precious families that we love them and are praying for them, even though many of the women who gave so generously have never met them. (Oh gosh, getting emotional again… lol)

IMG_8078 IMG_8079 IMG_8082 IMG_8083 IMG_8085

I want to say a huge thank you to everyone who helped with this, Heather and Faith, to Deanna for promoting at GBF,  and to everyone who came and donated. You guys are amazing!

One thought on “game and gift night

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

I love comments!

