Accepting Confrontation

I got a little behind on blogging the last few days. Ok, I really only missed three days but it seems like a lot. I’ve had a bit of a head cold for a while now and this weekend it because a lasting migraine.

Yesterday someone was talking to me about finding the person in your life who is “your Nathan” (as in the prophet Nathan who confronted David about his sin and pointed him back to God)

I haven’t heard the messages that she heard, so I won’t try to add to that, but tonight it got me thinking about being confronted. How open are we to being confronted or convicted for sin? I know that I don’t love being confronted about things. I tend to get upset and defensive and then as I have time to think it through will often realize that maybe they were right and were seeing things I didn’t want to see or maybe didn’t even know were a problem.

When someone confronts me either directly or indirectly, am I thankful for it? Am I willing to accept confrontation, be discipled and disciplined so that I can grow to be more like Christ?

A real friend is, after all, someone who loves me enough to take the risk to see me grow.

Proverbs 27:5-6 An open rebukes is better than hidden love! Wounds from a sincere friend are better than many kisses from an enemy.

Proverbs 27:17 As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.

I love comments!

