my husband rocks! does yours?

One of my friends from Bible School had an awesome status tonight on facebook. It addressed something that has been on my mind a lot lately too so I was really excited to read what she had to say. I was going to follow suit and answer her in my own status but decided to make it a blog post instead.

Her status addressed the fact that in media (commercials, tv shows, etc) and in our society in general men are portrayed as idiots. The best example I can think of (because it bothers me every time i see it) is the commercials for Leon’s Furniture they show a husband and wife and the husband is a moron in every commercial and his wife just pats him on the back with a condescending laugh, rolls her eyes and then makes the smart decision. (roughly) This is just one of many many examples. Heck, even as Christian wives we can get into “you won’t believe what my husband did…he’s such an idiot…” conversations all to often. It’s funny and harmless right?

More and more in the past few years I’ve been seeing that this is not harmless fun. If one of my girlfriends were to come up to me and tell me they thought my husband was a moron I would be very offended, we all would be right? So why would we think it is ok to say those things about them ourselves? The fact is, they aren’t, not at all.

An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain. She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life. Proverbs 31 exerpt

So on to her challenge, in her status she asked us all to brag on our husbands today. I have been thinking through this a lot lately but wanted to take the chance to brag on him publicly.

My husband, Caleb, is awesome! I am so blessed and so lucky to have married such a wonderful man. His love for the Lord and his desire to grow in his faith and be more and more like Christ is evident every day.

He works stinkin’ hard at a job he hates and doesn’t complain about it.

He loves me even when i am not loveable, he embarrasses me by calling me hot. He is faithful to me.

He is an awesome dad, he loves our kids and wants to bring them up right. If he is harsh with them or says something that hurts their feelings he humbles himself and apologizes. He  reads to them, he wrestles with them, he tucks them in at bedtime (when Aurora says it’s his turn – she’s picky about that).

And top of all of that he is always striving to be a better husband and father.

I could go on and on but that would get boring for everyone else to read. 😉

What do you love about your husband?

 

2 thoughts on “my husband rocks! does yours?

I love comments!

