“if they hate you remember they hated me first”

I had a pretty tough conversation this week which has left me thinking a lot about fear of what people think. How often have I not followed the prompting of the Holy Spirit  out of fear of that others will say or think?

I am a ridiculously insecure person despite having a fairly dominant personality. People are sometimes surprised to know that I am not nearly as tough as I come across. My feeling get hurt pretty easily and I worry all the time that people don’t like me so this is a big thing for me.

I know John 15:18-19 and Matt 10:22 well and know that if I am doing my job as a follower of Christ there are people who will hate me because it is promised in the Bible, but it is still hard to say things know that people will get angry or upset.

I got my first hate mail messages this week. I spoke the truth in love and offended someone (and unbeliever who happened was not the person I was talking to) and it made me feel sick to my stomach all day. Do I regret what I said? No, not really. The thing is, the Gospel IS offensive to those who don’t believe and to those who want to pick and choose. People do not like to hear that the lost ARE in fact lost, that Jesus is NOT one of many paths to Heaven, He is the ONLY way to Heaven. That bothers people, it doesn’t fit in to the watered down (heretical) teaching of “love wins”.

“If the world hates you remember that they hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you.” John 15:18-19

“You will be hated by everyone because of me, but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved” Matthew 10:22

Jesus was hated for the things he said. He was the perfect, sinless son of God and the world HATED him because of the truths he taught. In light of that a few little hate letters is not such a big deal (pretty minuscule compared with what others go through around the world). It isn’t something I hope will happen ever again regularly, but if it is the price for following the Lord then it is a pretty small price to pay.

 

I sometimes link up with

2 thoughts on ““if they hate you remember they hated me first”

  1. Amy Schroeder

    I Corinthians 1:18 For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God.

    Reply

I love comments!

