are you generous?

If you a regular reader of this blog you will probably know that missions/missionaries holds a very important place in my heart. I grew up as an MK (missionary kid) and so did my husband, both of our parents are still missionaries, a good number of our friends are and my baby brother and his wife are in training to be.

Hubby and his family growing up in South America

I am able to see (not only through the way I remember life growing up) by observing here the NTMCHeadquaters and Training base how life is for missionaries. I am able to meet and befriend many who come for training and I grew up with many of the staff families.

There is something I have noticed and wanted to bring the the attention of my Christian readers that is SO important for you to know.

There has been a change in the last few years in missions. It used to be that there were  MANY people willing to support missionaries financially and prayerfully, and few willing to go themselves, But these days that has changed.

Although there is ALWAYS a need for people to go, there is a huge need for people to give. I am to sure if this is a change in our generations or what, we are much less generous than we used to be.

A very remote village that one of my best friends serves in

It is so disheartening to see young families go through 4 years of training, pack up their lives and go to the field (or try to) and the funds never come in so they end up either leaving the field or not even making it there to begin with.

This has been happening SO MUCH lately!! Churches are not willing to give like they used to/need to and Christian families are not willing to give like they should. People all over the world are asking for missionaries and not getting them because without support these missionaries cannot go. I could fill a post with just the names of families that I know personally who are still waiting to go or have had to leave the mission field because they just can’t afford to live.

A friend’s friends in PNG

There is a myth that you have to be “called” to be a missionary, while the Lord will not lead us all to go overseas we are ALL called to missions. Some of us are supposed to physically go into all the nations and some of us are supposed to support them while reaching the lost in our own neighbourhoods.

I know tithing is a hard thing, I have struggled with it myself many times (I am thankful for a husband who makes it a top priority and reminds me time after time that it is not an option) sometimes money is tight and it just seems like we can’t afford to give any away. I won’t go into that because it’s a whole other topic, but what I do want to mention is that God blessed those who are generous. He blesses us in so many ways when we are generous to His work. I have seen so many churches stop supporting missionaries and when they make that choice God stops blessing them. How sad for God to not bless us or our church the way He WANTS TO because we are not willing to be generous with His money.

This is not meant to be a rant, I get carried away when I care about something… I just wanted to bring to your attention that this is a huge problem, and not just for young missionary couples, many older missionary couples are still serving faithfully but their supporters are also aging and often dying off. As believers, we need to make a change.

And so I challenge you, [if you are still reading it must be the Holy Spirit working 😉 ] Take the Missions Challenge with me. (you can link up on the Missions Challenge & Link Up page)
Missions Challenge

  • Commit to first praying for a few missionary families. Not just saying a quick prayer, but REALLY praying for them
  • Commit to encouraging them, send them emails, snail mail and cards and if you can send their kids little treats like stickers
  • Commit to finically supporting a family or a few families. If you can afford it do it every month. If you can’t do that, make it a family project to save  and bless a family with a one time gift.

Make a habit of these things and I guarantee the Lord will bless you more than you can imagine.

Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age. Matthew 28:19-20

If you made it all the way to the end of this post, thank you so much for reading! 🙂 This has really been on my heart lately. And stay tuned because I have some really great guest posts coming from missionary moms around the world. 🙂

(*The pictures used are my friend’s pictures, I didn’t take them.)

 

I sometimes link up with

8 thoughts on “are you generous?

  1. Kim B.

    You are so right! I totally take missionary families for granted. I never stopped to think of the daily sacrifices they go through living in a foreign country, going without A LOT of modern day conveniences, living on A LOT less money then if they had stayed in the US. Even though I cannot support them financially right now, I CAN pray for them. Really looking forward to reading your guest posts!

    Reply
  2. Mindy @ New Equus - A New Creation

    Being the mother of a soon to be missionary (my daughter is going to Italy for a year), I totally understand this. I also totally understand how hard it is to get the money. She is currently going through her fundraising and it has been the hardest thing for her to do EVER! But it has been a good experience. There still is some doubt that she will make enough money but she has put it in God’s hands.

    Thanks for posting how important this is! 🙂

    Reply
    1. my2monsters Post author

      That’s awesome! Yes, sometimes it is really hard, I know there have been many times when our family had very little and didn’t know how we would get by, but God ALWAYS provided what we needed and he always will.
      It is his job to provide but it sure is awesome to be able to be a part of his providing for someone! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Skylar Poletz

    Kristina, thanks so much for subscribing to my blog! Yours is super cute!! My mom (Mindy) told me about your post and it was quite refreshing to read about exactly what I have been experiencing from someone who understands. It is a very difficult process, but one that I hear is so instrumental in preparing you for life in the mission field. Thank you for sharing your heart and shedding light on something a lot of people probably don’t think about!

    Reply
    1. my2monsters Post author

      I was so happy she told me about you! Don’t get discouraged, it’s amazing what God can do even without you trying. If he wants you to serve him he will provide!!

      But I think the rest of us need to remind each other to support those of you who do go! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Pamela

    A precious sight to me a few weeks ago was seeing my grandchildren coming to a mission service, money from their banks clutched in their hands. Their great grandfather had a passion for missions and it’s been taught to three generations. Excellent challenge.

    Reply

I love comments!

