trusting, at least trying to

This week my brother and his wife received some scary news about their baby, after reviewing their ultrasound the doctor called their midwife to say that he thinks there may be a serious problem with the baby’s heart. The valves are not pumping blood the way they should. They will be doing another ultrasound tomorrow and are hoping that it was a fluke or a weird angle or something.

Me, being me, waited until I was home by myself and freaked. Having the background that I have with pregnancy I tend to do that. 😦 I spend most of Saturday feeling pretty down and panicking and knowing that I was just not trusting God but not really sure how to change that. I know full well that doctors give this kind of news all the time (or tell parents their baby will have many other problems) and things turn out fine but was still freaking out.

Mark (my brother) told me about how God would be glorified no matter what, If he could trust when it’s his child what was my problem?!

Finally desperate to get out the the funk that I was in, since it wasn’t helping anything, I started reading in “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young, the one for that day seemed to fit really well with what I was feeling. She talks about walking with the Lord along the path he has chosen for us, and that “The journey is arduous at times, and you are weak. Someday you will dance light-footed on the high peaks; but for now, your walk is often plodding and heavy.” and to “take the next step, clinging to My hand or strength and direction. Though the path is difficult…”

I love how the Lord takes little things, like a certain song on the radio or opening up to a certain verse, someone saying the right thing without even knowing what is going on to remind us that He is in control, that this world is not our home and things will be hard, but that doesn’t mean that He is not in control.

And so we wait, and trust that even if the doctors still see something wrong we worship Jehovah Rophi, the Lord who heals.

Mark and Lauren

And a few pictures of the kids (and dog)…

Names of God   God who heals

Linking up with

3 thoughts on “trusting, at least trying to

  1. Jamie

    Your brother’s faith in all of this is a wonderful testament of God’s faithfulness to him and his trust in that faithfulness. Thanks for sharing. Here from the Hop.

    Reply
  2. nickischroeder

    I am sorry to hear about your brother’s baby. But God is SOOOOOO GOOD! Trust in His understanding, lean not on yours! Blessings to you and praying for peace of mind for you and your loved ones. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Happy we could connect!

    Reply

I love comments!

